Hidden History of Downtown St. Louis

I’m excited to announce that the Hidden History of Downtown St. Louis which I began a year ago for Arcadia Publishing has arrived locally at Barnes and Noble Book Stores, The Book House in Maplewood, Campbell House Museum downtown and is also available online at both barnesandnoble.com (http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/hidden-history-of-downtown-st-louis-maureen-kavanaugh/1124493060?ean=9781467136839) and amazon.com (https://www.amazon.com/Hidden-History-Downtown-St-Louis/dp/1467136832/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1485382411&sr=1-1&keywords=hidden+history+of+downtown+st.+louis).

9781467136839-1This quality paperback is a compilation of the research which has gone into the walking tours and coach tours that I give of downtown St. Louis along with some 60 vintage images and contemporary photographs, mostly the work of my husband, Tom Kavanaugh. But the book contains far more detail than a walking tour allows for.

It begins with the Mississippian Mound Era (approximately the year 1000) and culminates in the present day. If you’ve been following my blog from an island in the Pacific, from Alaska, Europe or the British Isles it’s unlikely you’ll be taking a walking tour with me any time soon.

I love giving site-oriented walking tours and personally taking visitors back to the 18th and 19th centuries but this Hidden History of Downtown St. Louis will allow you to join me virtually from the comfort of your own home.

I will be doing my first book signing this coming Saturday, January 28th at The Book House in Maplewood, Missouri from 2:00 – 4:00 in the afternoon. If you can join me there I’d love to sign a book for you! If you’ve already bought the book online or at Barnes and Noble locally feel free to bring it along Saturday and I’ll be happy to sign it.

I won’t be telling ghost stories as I did the last time I appeared at The Book House. I don’t believe their new location is as charmingly haunted as the original Book House in Rock Hill was but I’m anxious to find out whether their little ghost moved along with their amazing inventory of books!

About stltourguide

I am a walking tour and narrated coach tour guide in St. Louis, Missouri specializing in the history of the area.
This entry was posted in Art & Architecture, Books, Civil War, Downtown St. Louis, Happenings, Neighborhoods. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

